Home THE GRIP REPORT Nas, Pusha T, Meek Mill, The Game and More Featured On “The Birth Of A Nation” Soundtrack [Listen Now]

Nas, Pusha T, Meek Mill, The Game and More Featured On “The Birth Of A Nation” Soundtrack [Listen Now]

Nas, Pusha T, Meek Mill, The Game and More Featured On “The Birth Of A Nation” Soundtrack [Listen Now]

Atlantic Records has announced the release of “THE BIRTH OF A NATION: THE INSPIRED BY ALBUM,” the unprecedented musical companion to the landmark film from Fox Searchlight Pictures. The album arrives at all online retailers today; THE BIRTH OF A NATION opens in theaters everywhere on Friday, October 7th.

 THE BIRTH OF A NATION is among the most anticipated new films and the winner of both the “Grand Jury Prize” and “Audience Award” at the 2016 Sundance Film Festival amidst unparalleled and enthusiastic critical acclaim. “THE BIRTH OF A NATION: THE INSPIRED BY ALBUM” is as powerful and creative as the award-winning film itself, gathering exclusive new material from some of 21st century black music’s most essential artists (see attached tracklisting). The album features 16 authentic tracks inspired by the ilm, from such remarkable artists as Nas, Lil Wayne, Trey Songz, Gucci Mane, Pusha T, Meek Mill, Wale, Ne-Yo, The Game, 2 Chainz, K. Michelle, Leon Bridges and more.

“THE BIRTH OF A NATION: THE INSPIRED BY ALBUM” was conceived by the film’s writer, director, and star Nate Parker to help “bridge the gap between 1831 and 2016 in a way that would allow young people to connect to Nat Turner’s legacy.”

The Birth Of A Nation

 “By curating a group of the best contemporary artists to sonically express their feelings of the film,” he says, “The hope was fans would recognize the connection and be curious to know more. (Atlantic Records Chairman and Chief Executive Officer) Craig Kallman, Kevin Weaver (Atlantic Records President of Film & Television) and I spoke with the artists, offering them a platform to address issues they otherwise may never have had the path to address.

I believe what has emerged is a series of honest, unfiltered feelings regarding where we were, where we are, and where we ultimately could be with the right collective disposition. I honestly couldn’t be more excited to share their Nat Turner-inspired feelings and truths with the world.”


Check the track listing:

  1. Go Tell ‘Em – Vic Mensa
  2. Black Moses – Meek Mill, Pusha T feat. Priscilla Renea
  3. Whip & A Chain – 2 Chainz
  4. Oh Lord – Gucci Mane and Lil Wayne
  5. On My Own – Lecrae and Leon Bridges
  6. Raise Hell – Sir The Baptist feat. Killer Mike and ChuchPeople
  7. Bloodline – Georgia Ku
  8. Stand – Trey Songz
  9. Queen – Ne-Yo
  10. Live Forever – Wale and Anthony Hamilton
  11. The Icarus – KAMAU 
  12. Sins Of Our Fathers – The Game and Marsha Ambrosius
  13. Firebird – Marko Penn and Janine
  14. Forward – K. Michelle
  15. War – Nas feat. Raye
  16. Couldn’t Hear Nobody Pray – Wiley College Choir

Peep the trailer for The Birth Of A Nation:

Listen to Pusha T, Meek Mill and Priscilla Renea on “Black Moses”

Listen to Gucci Mane and Lil Wayne’s “Oh Lord”


Follow us on Twitter: @IceBlueVA  @gripmagonline

Subscribe For Latest News, Updates & Contest/Giveaways